champs Ben Canfield & Jopfel Gafate with Women's Series winner Rachael Berg

        Ben Canfield and Jopfel Gafate emerged from an exciting matchplay round to capture JBT titles in dual Arizona and Mojave Conference action at Kingman's Cerbat Lanes.

        Canfield's ASU teammate Russ Oviatt fired 254 at Ben in the first of the two-game total pinfall scratch semifinal, but Ben bounced back with 253 in game two to win the match 469-447.  In the other semi, Cortez Schenck trailed Eric Hatchett 258-246 after a high scoring first game, but Schenck's 213-184 game two advantage gave him a 459-432 win to propel him to yet another title match.

        The title match was more of a grind than the semifinal matches, and Schenck could never get comfortable on teh final pair despite keeping the match close.  In the end, the veteran Canfield pulled out a 203-192 win, earning the 22nd title of his exceptional career, tying USBC President and JBT great Andrew Cain (who worked with Ben during the week) for 9th on the all-time list.

        Handicap division quarterfinal matches were won by #4 seed Kyle Rendon, #3 Gafate, newcomer #10 Michael Owens, and 16 seed Brendan Lindsey, making an impressive run from sneaking in the cut to oust top seed Brandon Duffy and 9 seed Jarred Starr Moncayo.   Rendon then stopped Lindsey's run in the one-game semifinal 230-199, while Gafate beat a tiring Owens 222-147 in the other semi to set up the title match between Vegas JBT regulars.

        Jopfel set a pace Kyle couldn't keep up with in the title match, and the 218-173 final result gave Gafate the second title of his JBT career.

        The Women's Series title match was a classic between Randi Speiler and Rachael Berg.  Speiler, needing a double to win, left a 7-pin on her first shot in the tenth, giving Berg the 202-199 win and her second girls' win of the season.

        Thanks as always to the great team at Cerbat for all their weekend-long hospitality at one of our favorite annual stops.  Want in on all the fun and excitement for all ages and averages?  Just check out our schedule and come on down!        

Cerbat Lanes- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Ben Canfield $200
2 Cortez Schenck $150
3 Eric Hatchett $60
4 Russ Oviatt $30
5 KJ Martinez $40
6 Steven Acuff  
7 Brendan Thomas  
8 Nick Pollak  
9 Keith Fung  
10 Cerell Cardines $400
11 Randi Speiler  
12 Anthony Inzetta  
13 Andrew Guba  
14 Teagan Smale  
15 Alex Watanabe  
16 Jamison Peyton  
17 Tyler Satter  
18 Max Polhill  
19 Josh Demick  
20 Nick Gengler  
  Handicap Division  
1 Jopfel Gafate $200
2 Kyle Rendon $100
3 Michael Owens $50
4 Brendan Lindsey $40
5 Destiny Johnson $30
6 Jarred Starr-Moncayo $25
7 Daryus Alo  
8 Dee Handley $8
9 Brandon Duffy  
10 Sebastian Polhill  
11 Samantha Potter $15
12 Tyler Hedges $159
13 Abby Franklin $15
14 Rachael Berg  
15 Ryan Zent $15
16 Paul Colyer  
17 Derick Poole  
18 Danny Hove $35
19 Kenny Gengler  
20 Krystal Amico  
21 Kyle Gilbert  
22 Bex Boyko  
23 Gillian Coyle  
24 David Galvan  
25 Mathew Adragna $8
26 Tyler Thomas  
27 Zack Long  
28 Devyn Patalina  
29 Phillip Sauve  
30 Amanda Atkin  
31 Silas Phillips  
32 Dante Rohe  
33 Dylan Amico  
34 April McDonnell  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Hatchett 279 Johnson 267
2 S Acuff 278 Duffy 261
3 Hatchett 278 Lindsey 258
4 Pollak 265 Alo 257
5 Hatchett 258 Rendon, Potter, Gafate 253
  High Female  
1 Speiler -7  
2 Berg -102  
3 Potter -106  
4 Coyle -113  
5 Franklin -146  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Hatchett Long
2 Hatchett Gafate
3 Hatchett Johnson
4 Hatchett Duffy
5 Martinez Duffy
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,243