champs Joe Grondin & Jacob Murray

            Joe Grondin and Jacob Murray earned JBT titles in a great day of So Cal Conference fun and action at Foutain Bowl.

            Michael Ma opened the handicap division stepladder finals with the closest of wins, throwing all three strikes in the tenth frame for a 208-207 win over Tre Mitchell.  Ma rolled on with a 236-190 win over Dawson Reese.  Ryan Galland then threw a big game to stop Ma 269-206 and advance to the title match.

            Top qualifier Jake Murray is from San Diego, not State Farm as his shirt suggests, but he ensured himself at least a second place finish by running away with the tournament for the #1 seed.  He left no doubt in the title match either, defeating a tiring Galland 252-152 for the first title of his JBT career.

        The scratch division enjoyed the debut of our 'tennis' format, where finalists played a series of one-frame rolloffs, scored just like a game of tennis.  Tied rolloffs began 'rallies', making every single shot pivotal to a bowler's score.  Oscar Chan won the first game against Brandon Wanders after Wanders made a nice comeback from 15-40.  Grondin then stepped in and proved to be as tough as they come, as every time his opponent struck, he would answer with a strike of his own, then putting points away with his own clutch shots.  He defeated Chan at love, frustrating him at every chance.  Wesley Low then took him to deuce, but Grondin kept answering the call and put him away from there.

        The title match west best-of-3 games, and after Grondin won the first game, top seed Kyle Duster put on a gritty performance to tie it up.  The tiebreaker game was intense, as Grondin was so far left he was running out of boards to move to, while Kyle, um, skirted along the edge of defeat but hung in there.  Finally, at 40-30, Joe put the match away, earning the second title of his JBT career.

        Ashley Dunn and Renee Gentry put on a clinic in the Women's Series title match, with Dunn coming up with a 244-224 win in a rematch from the Mira Mesa girl's title match.

        Want in on the most unique and exciting fun around?  Just check out our schedule and come on down!

Fountain Bowl- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler


1 Joe Grondin $200
2 Kyle Duster $110
3 Wesley Low $109
4 Oscar Chan $55
5 Brandon Wanders $20
6 Austin Thompson  
7 Jerome Jordan Jr  
8 Derek Acuff  
9 Cortez Schenck $8
10 Steven Acuff  
11 Kirk Chui  
12 Ryan Miller  
13 Anthony Schanen  
14 Nick Pollak   
15 Steven Kampley  
16 Ricardo Mendoza  
17 Kennison Andrews $29
18 Ashley Dunn $8
19 Billy Dacanay  
20 Nick Condon  
21 Terrence Robinson  
22 Anthony Cando  
23 Bobby Hornacek  
24 Randi Speiler  
25 Tyler Espinola  
26 Greg Adler  
  Handicap Division  
1 Jacob Murray $200
2 Ryan Galland $100
3 Michael Ma $50
4 Dawson Reese $54
5 Tre Mitchell $30
6 David Lowen $20
7 Tyler Hedges $44
8 James McGough $15
9 Alli Azvedo  
10 Andrew Chan  
11 Matthew Carpenter $34
12 Jackie Azvedo  
13 Brian Lim   
14 Nicholas Dorn $15
15 Megan Carpenter  
16 Trevor Thompson  
17 Antoine Allmon $25
18 Amanda Atkin  
19 Marguerite Evans $75
20 Katelyn Abigania $15
21 Zack Long  
22 Kyle Ponzo $15
23 Leah Zweig  
24 Kyle Reed $10
25 Amanda Buettner  
26 Renee Gentry  
27 Abby Franklin   
28 Taylor Berry  
29 Jarred Starr-Moncayo  
30 Kylie Shishima $15
31 Michaela Buhain  
32 Joshua Abigania  
33 Secilia Kalvelage  
34 Allex Zieg  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Duster 297 Murray 285
2 Grondin 279 Galland 280
3 Chan 279 Mitchell 279
4 J Jordan 279 McGough 277
5 Grondin 278 Ma 277
  High Female  
1 Dunn +22*  
2 Gentry -24  
3 Speiler -71  
4 M Carpenter -81  
5 A Azvedo -119  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Grondin A Azvedo
2 Grondin Reese
3 Grondin A Azvedo
4 Low A Azvedo
5 Low Murray
6 Duster Murray
7 Duster Murray
8 Duster Murray
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,256