champs Brendan Thomas & Garrett Thompson, with runner-up Cole Telford

        After a very exciting day of action, Utah bowlers Brendan Thomas and Garrett Thompson came out on top at the JBT Mojave Conference season opening event at Texas Star Lanes.

        TPC champion Dallas Leong opened the scratch division stepladder finals with a 249-221 win over Joe Gerencser, who made a successful switch to the scratch division.  Leong then raised his score even higher, getting by KJ Martinez 251-172.  Thomas stopped Leong in the semifinals 225-181 to move on to his second career title match.

        Top seed Russ Oviatt rolled the first 300 game of the season (followed just a few minutes later by KJ's perfect game)  en route to the #1 spot.  He struggled early in the title match though, while Thomas came out red-hot with a five bagger.  A great ball change got Russ back in contention, but when he didn't strike in the tenth, Brendan had the margin he needed for a 246-212 win, earning the first title of his JBT career.

        9 year-old Cole Telford made a very impressive run up the handicap division stepladder, beginning with a 219-185 win over Crystalene Pineda.  The next match was a thriller, as Brendan Lindsey got the first strike in the tenth but not the second, giving Telford the 246-243 win.  Round three was just as tense, and again Cole escaped, this time with a 206-199 win over Paul Colyer, to advance to the title match.

        Top seed Garrett Thompson and Telford, both Utah bowlers, ensured it would be a Utah sweep on the day, but which bowler would complete the sweep wasn't determined until the final shot.  After Cole finished the title match at 217, Thompson needed a 20-fill in his tenth to tie.  Instead, he got up and calmly flushed two strikes, earning a 226-217 victory, and his first career JBT title.

        The women's series saw two new faces, as top seed Crystalene Pineda beat Veronica Schleicher 179-154 for the title, the first of three women's wins she needs to qualify for the 2015 Girls TPC next summer.

        If all that wasn't enough, Dante Rohe correctly called 10-7-5 to win PowerBowl's $500 jackpot, making him the second PowerBowl big winner in two weeks, after Randi Speiler's $1,000 win in San Diego.  Come get PowerBowl while it's hot!

        Thanks as always to Jerry Francomano and the crew at Texas for their usual stellar hosting job.  If you don't like this, you don't like bowling!  To get in on the fun, just check out our schedule and come down, that's all there is to it!

Texas Star- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler


1 Brendan Thomas $200
2 Russ Oviatt $100
3 Dallas Leong $75
4 KJ Martinez $40
5 Joe Gerencser $48
6 Wesley Low  
7 Nick Pollak  
8 Cerell Cardines  
9 Joe Grondin  
10 Zach Hattori $44
11 Alex Watanabe  
12 Isaiah Chavez  
13 Ricardo Mendoza  
14 Eric Hatchett   
15 Tyler Satter  
16 Teagan Smale  
17 Cortez Schenck  
18 Matt Zweig  
19 Talon Hendrickson  
20 Zach Martinez  
21 Randi Speiler  
22 Andrew Guba  
23 Jamison Peyton  
24 Leah Glazer  
  Handicap Division  
1 Garrett Thompson $200
2 Cole Telford $130
3 Paul Colyer $70
4 Brendan Lindsey $30
5 Crystalene Pineda $20
6 Keilani Pracale-Bermudez $20
7 Veronica Schleicher  
8 April McDoneell $14
9 Alayna Purdy  
10 Devyn Patalina  
11 Kevin Mette  
12 Dante Rohe $631
13 Tyler Thomas  
14 Jake Hilton  
15 Dylan Amico  
16 Sergio Torres  
17 Daryus Alo  
18 Jarred Starr-Moncayo $10
19 Hezy Miller  
20 Justin Freeman  
21 Brooke Martinez  
22 Kyle Gilbert  
23 Dee Handley $15
24 Krystal Amico  
25 Abby Franklin  
26 Jopfel Gafate  
27 Tyler Hedges  
28 Cameron Peck $14
29 Kyle Rendon $50
30 Destiny Johnson  
31 Marc Villalobos  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Oviatt 300 Schleicher 301
2 KJ Martinez 300 Colyer 288
3 Joe Gerencser 288 G Thompson 281
4 B Thomas 279 Lindsey 276
5 I Chavez 279 Schleicher 265
  High Female  
1 Pineda +14*  
2 Schleicher +10  
3 Speiler -81  
4 B Martinez -86  
5 Bermudez -90  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 I Chavez Patalina
2 Oviatt Schleicher
3 Oviatt Schleicher
4 Gerencser Schleicher
5 Oviatt Colyer
6 Oviatt Colyer
7 Oviatt G Thompson
8 Oviatt G Thompson
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,721