champs Jakob Butturff & Aaron Coleman, with runner-up Sean Scheirmann

        Jakob Butturff and Aaron Coleman captured JBT titles in exciting Arizona Conference action at the spectacular Uptown Alley in Surprise.

        Butturff was out of the cut after game four of qualifying, then rolled a big game to get into round two, and kept rolling enough to grab the #4 seed for the scratch division stepladder finals.  He then got past four tough opponents, beginning with a 225-173 match one win over Matt Zweig.  Jakob then got past Ben Canfield 217-202, and in a thrilling semifinal, escaped 247-237 over Dallas Leong when Dallas left a solid-7 on his second ball needing all three in the tenth to tie. 

        Top qualifier Cortez Schenck was looking for back to back titles on the weekend, but Buttruff wasn't about to be his victim for the second consecutive day.  Less than 24 hours after allowing Schenck to win his landmark 40th title, Jakob's 245-184 win over Cortez gave Buttruff his landmark 30th title, only the 6th player in JBT history to do so.

        Newcomer Sean Scheirmann began a climb up the handicap division stepladder with a 207-163 win over Joseph Metzer, who made the title match the previous day.  Schiermann then squeezed by Destiny Johnson 193-183, and in another nailbiter, edged Joshua Molloy 229-224, to advance to the title match.

        Top qualifier Aaron Coleman has been close to victory before, but was not to be denied here.  He stopped Schiermann's fine run with a 208-191 win, good for the 10 year-old's first career JBT title. 

        Gillian Coyle won her first Women's Series event of the year, defeating talented New Mexican Vanessa Romero 216-192, for the first of three wins she needs to qualify for the Girls TPC next summer.

        Big thanks to Jennifer and the staff at Uptown Alley for another great job hosting us.  Want in on all this fun and excitement?  Just check out our schedule and come on out to the next JBT event, it's that simple! 


Uptown Alley- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Jakob Butturff $200
2 Cortez Schenck $154
3 Dallas Leong $75
4 Ben Canfield $55
5 Matt Zweig $20
6 Bryan Van Sickle  
7 Nick Pollak  
8 Josh Demick  
9 Aaron Yamamoto  
10 Austin Muldoon $15
11 Sean Trzaskowski  
12 Jerry Moreno  
13 Jake Tucker  
14 Max Polhill   
15 Jason Prejean  
16 Adel Wahner  
17 Keith Fung  
  Handicap Division  
1 Aaron Coleman $273
2 Sean Scheirmann $100
3 Joshua Molloy $70
4 Destiny Johnson $79
5 Joseph Metzer $40
6 Abby Franklin $44
7 Sebastian Polhill $50
8 Sarah Halligan $5
9 Kendra Edgett $30
10 Marguerite Evans $30
11 Krystine Poore  
12 Jarred Starr-Moncayo  
13 Tyler Hedges $14
14 Gillian Coyle  
15 Samantha Sellers $35
16 John Newton  
17 James Burke $14
18 Vanessa Romero $10
19 Zach Rapp  
20 David Rohe  
21 Tony Edgett  
22 Shelby Dempsey  
23 Cristian Roque  
24 Elijah Melchor  
25 Brooke Martinez  
26 Madison Blake  
27 Candace Gardner  
28 Bella Flowers  
29 Nathan Skirvin  
30 Daryus Alo  
31 Zack Long  
32 Rashaad Jordan  
33 Dante Rohe  
34 Paul Colyer  
35 Chandler Yost  
36 Bex Boyko  
37 Chad Alexander  
38 Ryan Zent  
39 Rachael Berg  
  High Games  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Schenck 289 Metzer 271
2 Leong 279 V Romero 255
3 Van Sickle 279 Molloy 255
4 Canfield 278 Molloy 252
5 Schenck 277 Halligan 249
  High Female  
1 Coyle -102  
2 Romero -116  
3 Wahner -139  
4 Johnson -169  
5 Evans -182  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Canfield Poore-Halligan
2 Canfield Halligan
3 Canfield Halligan
4 Schenck Coleman
5 Canfield Coleman
6 Schenck Coleman
7 Schenck Coleman
8 Schenck Coleman
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,333