champs Cortez Schenck & Kyle Ponzo

        Cortez Schenck remained red hot, while Kyle Ponzo completed an Arizona sweep, in exciting JBT Mojave Conference action at Sunset Station's Strike Zone in Henderson.

        In the scratch division, Joe Grondin walloped them in qualifying to grab the top spot for matchplay, but matchplay proved to be a cruel test for all the top seeds, as the Joe and the rest of the top four all lost in round two.  In the resulting semifinals, previous day's champ Schenck beat Randi Speiler in her return to the top four, while KJ Martinez, who earlier beat Grondin, now beat Utah's Talon Hendrickson to set up the title match.

        In the finale between two Arizona veterans, Schenck remained untouchable, stopping KJ 223-196 for back to back wins on the weekend, his fourth title in a row overall, and 44th of his ridiculously good JBT career.

        Handicap division bowlers were eventually carved down to four semifinalists as well, and in that round Kyle Ponzo defeated Nathan Hanuscin, and Veronica Schleicher beat Eric Torrence to set up that title match.  In the finale, Veronica took the early lead as Kyle could not catch a double.  That changed in the second half, as Ponzo, another Arizona bowler, strung four in a row and then held on for a 224-213 win, good for the third title of his JBT career.

        Thanks as always to the team at Strike Zone, again the home of the TPC, for hosting out regular season events as well.  Want in on all the fun and excitement?  Just come on out to our next JBT event, it's as simple as that!

Strike Zone- final results and scholarship winners
  Scratch Division  
rank bowler prize
1 Cortez Schenck $200
2 KJ Martinez $100
3 Talon Hendrickson $74
4 Randi Speiler $41
5 Joe Grondin $20
6 TJ Rock $11
7 Brendan Thomas  
8 Wesley Low $63
9 Andrew Guba  
10 Zach Hattori $37
11 Nick Pollak  
12 Eric Hatchett  
13 Cerell Cardines  
14 Jamison Peyton   
15 Tyler Satter $11
16 Max Polhill  
17 Teagan Smale $13
18 Dallas Leong  
  Handicap Division  
1 Kyle Ponzo. $275
2 Veronica Schleicher. $100
3 Nathan Hanuscin. $50
4 Eric Torrence. $30
5 Tyler Thomas. $20
6 Justin Freeman  
7 Dylan Amico.


8 Devyn Patalina,  
9 Tyler Hedges.


10 Michael Rose  
11 Brandon Duffy  
12 April McDonnell   
13 Jopfel Gafate  
14 Jarred Starr-Moncayo  
15 James Wilson  
16 Abby Franklin  
17 Dee Handley  
18 Zack Long.  
19 Dante Rohe


20 Kevin Mette  
21 Sebatian Polhill  
22 Daryus Alo,  
23 Trevor Thompson  
24 Destiny Johnson  
25 Garrett Thompson  
26 Sergio Torres  
27 Kyle Rendon  
28 Paul Colyer  
29 George Arcurero  
30 Janelle Takahata  
31 Alayna Purdy  
  High Games  


Satter 279
  High Female  
1 Speiler*  
2 Schleicher  
  Round Leaders  
  Scratch Handicap
1 Hendrickson Duffy
2 Low Mette
3 Grondin Ponzo
4 Grondin T Thomas
5 Grondin T Thomas
  Total Awarded This Event: $1,249

    ***The above are reconstructed results from the event, as the US Post Office insists that these results are still "in transit" from Vegas to Seattle.   If you have any information to add, please contact us by 1/30/15.